DIY Plumbing Dilemma

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just moved into my new home, and one of the first things that needed looking at was the heating system.

To start with most of the radiators have rusted up and split on the bottom, i've basically replaced the lot today, so 8 radiators measured up and hung.

Floorboards are up and it looks like there is a main run 15mm running down the landing splitting off into each room in 8mm microbore, what i've noticed though is that most if it comes up at old angles around joists and more often than not comes up to the radiator through the skirting boards!!!! :evil: Surely this isn't normal practice?

Anyway, my question is i want to do away with the microbore in favour of 15mm pipe up to the rads nice and neat. However i've never done any copper soldering/plumbing before but i do fancy a go :rolleyes: - the furthest run from the main run of 15mm on the landing is about 7 metres (most are about 5 metres).

With that in mind (nil copper experience), do you think i should go the plastic route instead and speedfit the routes entering each room and come up with copper tails?my intention is to do this once and forget about for the next 20 years or so.

The plastic option seems to be the easiest option, just worried i'll be having the floor up every couple of months replacing fittings and seals etc - is there anyone out there who's done a similiar thing, what did you use? Plastic seems cheaper, and quicker - albeit less reliable????

Sponsored Links
I think you will need to up the 15mm main lines to 22, plastic is fine, we put al plastic in a friends house he renovated over 2 years ago and no problems what so ever, we used hep2o fittings and pipe, the pipe seemed much more flexible than the john guest, which may help you out.