DIYer wanting to learn - would it be worthwhile?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is it worth a DIYer taking some proper electrical course(s)?

With a big kitchen refurb being planned for next year, wanting to do a lot of it ourselves, including a lot of the electrical works. There are other bits in the house that could do with improvements (spurs off spurs etc). So lots of "notifiable" jobs but anway, notifiable or not it must all be done properly.

So I'm wondering if I should do take one/some courses to learn how to do this work correctly ??

I'm not a complete novice, having done things like running fused spurs and am willing to have a go with bigger work --- BUT I want to ensure I'm doing it correctly (if for no other reason than getting it wrong can be dangerous).

Have any other DIYer done this & if so was it worthwhile?
Any advice/suggestions from the pros?

Sponsored Links
It sounds like you don't want to be a qualified electrician so going through the City and Guilds route and getting Part P etc will probably not be what you want. Unless you want to know about polyphase systems, inductance, capacitance, oh and loads and loads and loads of health and safety!!!

About 18 months ago I completely re-did my kitchen / diner and bathroom which were major works.

I was being quoted in region of £2500 for what we wanted. I found a qualified electrician who was sympathetic to my 'working' with him, IE basically being his apprentice for a project. The fellow happened to be a full-time fireman as well and ran his own electrical company on his 4 days off or after night shifts. He was more than happy for me to help as he had more work than time available so it helped him out to.

This reduced the cost considerably, I learnt more in that time than a college course has done in 12 months.

Incidentally after this project I decided to change directions and started doing C&G 2330.