1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Do I have a wiring issue on my Y Plan 3 port valve?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by SDBradfo, 14 Oct 2020.

  1. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    I recently had an electrician round to do some electrical work and he had to go inside the airing cupboard terminal box as he used some old wiring for our unused thermostat (we got a Tado last year)

    I believe he’s snipped something he shouldn’t as motor is not getting any power at al, tested with voltage pen. It’s currently stuck on HW only (can set to manual)

    I have a PMV22 Salus.

    The white wire goes into my terminal box with nothing coming out of it and it never goes live (manual says it should be live with HW is on)

    I have a unused live wire from the stat that goes live when HW is on (I assume this is to power the white wire?).

    electrician saying they only cut the wire for the old stat but clearly they’ve done something else...may need to charge me.

    does it sound like my loose live wire ought to be plugged into the terminal against the white wire?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    4,005
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please post a photo of wiring in wiring centre (your terminal box). A pmv22 is a 2 port valve, and please for your own safety do not use the volt pen unless you’re testing a gas pipe or any other extraneous metal part of your system - they’re inaccurate for proving correct voltage.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Apologies I have a 3 port PMV32

    Excuse the mess, sorry!

    this is the info I’m going off https://salus-controls.com/files/PMV2228-Quick-Guide.pdf

    specifically this bit “
    When A is open & B is closed; white 0V, Blue is N;
    When B is open & A is closed; white 230V, Blue is ”

    the loose yellow wiring behaves like line 2 - when HW is on its live, when CH it’s not love
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 14 Oct 2020
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,540
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As @Chris_W correctly says a PMV22 Salus is a 2 port valve and wont have a white wire, yet you say you have a Y plan which is a 3 port valve and may have a white wire , pics tell a thousand words, sorry overlap when typing
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  6. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Sorry it is a PMV32 3 port. The Salus document has both valves on the same spec sheet and I just mis-took the title on the first page
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,540
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It will be because the white wire is the CH on wire and it is not connected to anything , get them back and tell them to sort it for free
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    4,005
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I could be wrong but it looks like your switch live is missing back on the white wire? Or a link should have been placed?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am thinking the same but not sure how to find that wire. Could it be the one that is loose in the photo that goes live when HW is on?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    4,005
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be but looks short. I’d do what @ianmcd suggested first and get the sparks back for free. As is quite often said to us in our industry “It was ok until you touched it”.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Yes it’s definitely too short, I think they cut it and did a botch job just leaving it love (thinking it was old stat).

    Would it be easy for them to “extend” and make contact do you know?

    thanks very much for the help
     
  13. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    4,005
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes they should be able to use a connector block and extend it. Please don’t think about doing it yourself though, as we don’t know if it’s the correct wire.
     
  14. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thank you very much for your help. I’ll get in touch with electrician
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    electrician tried to extend the wiring to plug into the white but this hasn’t fixed anything, still only hot water.

    he was a bit baffled as as soon as the HW was hot, the loose cable was live, as soon as it meets the white it doesn’t go live.

    still getting no power to the motor at all.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 17 Oct 2020
  16. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    4,005
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like a wiring issue somewhere along the line. Your room stat is turned up, yes? You have selected heating on the programmer yes?
     
  17. SDBradfo

    SDBradfo

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I have a tado and that appears to work fine. I hear it switching.

    what confused him was why the loose wire went live when HW was on but off when connected to the white.
     
Loading...

Share This Page