1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Does this seem right for a room thermostat?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by The Novice, 11 Nov 2019.

  1. The Novice

    The Novice

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    785
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whenever I’ve looked at manufacturers instructions for sitting of a room thermostat and @stem ’s written instruction for siting of a room stat, my current setup seems illogical, yet when I look in the mi’s it states it’s ok? Very confusing information.

    Room stat: Myson MRT1
    Location: open plan living room, which incorporates dining room/kitchen.
    Number of rads in this location: x3 with TRV’s

    Will I get big swings or will it be ok? Whenever I’m upstairs or in the downstairs toilet it seems very cold, although bathroom is possibly a good heated room.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    12,587
    Thanks Received:
    3,743
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you cant have a room thermostat above a radiator and it should be installed in a space with a radiator with no TRV on, and before all you google warriors jump in about my next statement just read that this is MY opinion and nothing to do with any Part L, Boiler plus or any of the other shoite that we have to adhere to, I totally disagree with the need for a room thermostat, it is a boiler interlock yes and adheres to some code, if a house has TRVs the room thermostat will over ride these, modern mobile thermostats can be moved around with you wherever you are sitting, Adheres to code because it is a boiler interlock, what it actually is a remote control for your heating with a temp display on so make s a complete mockery of the supposed codes, but in effect is far more suitable for the user, I have a Hive in my house and TRVs on every rad, I dont use the thermostat part of the hive and just use it as an on/off switch with my phone, I dont need to ask the local airport if it is cold outside, I know when it is cold, I have the TRVs set to what I want them to be at, and guess what , it all works no problem, I just hide when the room thermostat Police come around
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    5,622
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If that represents all of the radiators in the same area, that's basic installation error. There should be at least one radiator without a TRV in the area where the room thermostat is located. Otherwise the TRV's will interfere with the correct operation of the room stat.

    Consider a scenario: The TRV's are set to 20 degrees, room stat set to 22 degrees, the TRV's will stop the room temperature getting above 20 degrees and the room stat will never switch off, so it might as well not be there and the heating will run on indefinitely even though not really required and wasting energy because the temperature set on the room thermostat will never be reached.

    The bottom line is that the room thermostat turns off all of the radiators when the set temperature in the area where it is located is reached. So, it should be one of the last places to get warm, then the other rooms are warmed first before the room thermostat turns off all of the radiators.

    Sometimes there isn't a perfect position, my mothers bungalow had an internal hallway without a radiator, that had no external walls so was always warm. The lounge had a gas fire in it that was sometimes used. The kitchen was a non starter because of the cooking heat, and the bedrooms she always liked really cool, so if it was in there and set at the temperature she liked, the heating in the rest of the house would been cold.

    As I said in my other post, I installed a smaller radiator in my hall where the thermostat is located making it the last room to heat up and now it works perfectly.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. oldbuffer

    oldbuffer

    Joined:
    6 May 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. If you have TRVs on radiators in the room with the room thermostat, turn all the TRVs to maximum, and then the room thermostat controls the temperature of the room.
    2. I don't see any contradiction in the Myson instructions. It suggests "on a wall ADJACENT to the wall with the radiator", and specifically states not exposed to radiator (or other) heat sources.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. The Novice

    The Novice

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    785
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't install it, it was done as per new build. As for the "hallway" it's not big so maybe that's why it's in the lounge? Also I can only see x2 wires must just be a switch
     
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    12,587
    Thanks Received:
    3,743
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All thermostats are just a switch
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    5,622
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would work, until someone fiddles with it or turns it off during the summer. I've been called out a few times to look at a 'broken room stat' and someone (or the kids / dog etc.) has moved a TRV from the max setting :rolleyes:

    I didn't say you did ;). But someone did. If it's still a new build, get the builder back to rectify his schoolboy error.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,993
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But a switch needs someone or something to operate it.

    In your case it almost certainly is "just a switch" but two wires can be a data bus.
     
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    12,587
    Thanks Received:
    3,743
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You just cant help yourself from trying to appear like a smart ass, in his case it definately is, it is a Myson MRT1, this can not be used as a data bus
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. The Novice

    The Novice

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    785
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was a new build ten years ago, I contacted Myson at the time as I thought it was in an odd location, and they said it was fine and would work - although they didn’t suggest setting TRVs on max. It was installed by either a heating company or electrician. We had several issues with the programmer as well, I think we’re on our 4th :eek: and seems to be ok. One of the issues was if we boosted the heating or hot water, or both together if one became satisfied it would also knock the other one off, very strange behaviour, but as I say seems ok now.
     
  13. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    21,993
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I said in this case it IS just a switch but it is not sensible to assume that "just two wires" will always connect to " just a switch"
     
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    12,587
    Thanks Received:
    3,743
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bernard, people come on here for an answer to a specific problem, not to hear you ramble on absolute tosh about stuff completely unrelated to what they are asking, please if you can offer constructive advice then do so, but stop trying to be smart and come up with absolute drivel to confuse people, and you think it makes you seem intelligent, it does the complete opposite
     
    • Like Like x 1
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page