1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Doorbell transformer for Nest/Ring

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by MarkT745, 28 Nov 2020.

  1. MarkT745

    MarkT745

    Joined:
    21 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, we are looking to get a smart doorbell (Nest or Ring) and was hoping it would be a simple case of replacing existing wired bell push.

    However I understand the existing transformer may be unsuitable. I'm struggling to find the transformer and all I can see is the chime box (photo attached with cover off - not sure why there is a loose unsheathed wire there!). Is the transformer integrated here? Voltages look too low anyway, so assuming I will need an electrician but thought I would check in here first.

    Consumer unit has a switch for the doorbell circuit but nothing else additional which would look like a transformer.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,893
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. MarkT745

    MarkT745

    Joined:
    21 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, thanks.

    I was hoping to use the existing doorbell wiring rather than using a plug in socket and new wiring (I don't have a plug socket nearby in any case).
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,189
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That appears to be telephone cable. Not sure of the current requirements of the Ring thing, but you may need to double, or even quad, up the cores to avoid volt drop.

    can’t add to the power supply comments above.

    The bell you gave does not have an integrated power supply. You must have a transformer somewhere else. May be in if next to your consumer unit.
     
  6. MarkT745

    MarkT745

    Joined:
    21 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks.

    Yes I thought it looked like telephone wire. Definitely can't see a transformer anywhere. Nothing on or around consumer unit. May have to ask my electrician to visit. Don't want to buy the bell if isn't going to be possible to connect up.

    I know the Ring bell can be used wirelessly off internal rechargeable battery but of course it won't sound the internal chime.

    Nothing ever simple with my house!

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. BillyWillySilly

    BillyWillySilly

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pontypridd, Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are after the Ring plugin transformer, go direct to them. I am about to order one for a Ring Doorbell Pro and they're only £15.
     
  8. Iamchamps

    Iamchamps

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    1,035
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can buy a plug-in chime which will sound when the ring door bell is pressed. I have recently fitted a ring door bell I would recommend not running it on battery.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page