1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Which transformer for Ring Video Doorbell Wired (UK)?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Techboy, 21 Jun 2021.

  1. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve bought a Ring Video Doorbell Wired, the transformer for my current doorbell is only 6VA, 6V, 50HZ. The Ring doorbell requires 8-24VAC.

    I’ve bought a Ring Chime for the audio - I’ll use this and the amazon Echo devices I have around the house, I am happy to not use the current bell.

    Will I just need to replace my transformer? Is it just a case of turning off the power to it, taking out the current one and fitting a new one?

    Here is a picture of my doorbell. I’ve marked in green what I think is the transformer and in red what I think is the bell…

    [​IMG]

    Any recommendation as to which transformer I should get? Is this one okay? https://www.amazon.co.uk/Navaris-Door-Bell-Transformer-12V/dp/B07J2NWYC4/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=transformer+ring&qid=1624144124&sr=8-5 1
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Take a look at BG ones
     
  4. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,590
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also consider that door bell transformers are only supplying power while the door bell is being pressed. ( the voltage is there but no current flows until the button is pressed ). Some door bell transformers are not rated for continuous supply of power and will begin to over heat if called on to supply power for more than a few seconds per minute.

    The ring video door bell will be taking power continuously and thus a transformer intended for normal door bells may not be suitable as a power supply to a video door bell system.
     
  5. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks both for the info.

    So you're saying that I would need to buy a transformer with an enclosure. Could I not simply replace the current transformer (shown in green in my picture above) with a new one? Or could I remove the whole box shown in the picture and replace it with the transformer + enclosure (i.e. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/203342974405)?

    I do have 2 spare slots in my consumer unit, but I'm not that experienced with DIY so I don't want to place the wires from there to the doorbell button...

    BTW, my current doorbell is on my downstairs lighting cabling (i.e. same switch on the consumer unit).
     
  7. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, those transformers need to be in an enclosure, because of the main voltage.

    Yes you could replace your current bell with an exclosure.

    It maybe cheaper to buy a separate din rail enclosure and transformer if you look.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/253469566405?_trkparms=ispr=1&hash=item3b03f6a5c5:g:G4cAAOSwtjtanXHP&amdata=enc:AQAGAAACkPYe5NmHp%2B2JMhMi7yxGiTJkPrKr5t53CooMSQt2orsSg3Ye8yTWgOW7pmE1t838dia7uY%2FzPQ7Jj7yA8oPIn7lVuuQdmMZTBHpLBX%2FYHeZ7XDnOaAhpcG%2FzeXuelwXeFNmZvjCVfIeaEF2quEA0UyEwa4GDJ4x%2BONYQZaMmM5a0ByIbSm8v7iX4kEH%2FwrU7LYjPc2KzWtIUcifszOMHiPzaS1hVnx3LUqKK1jlQGTckQmIrGK0bFp01I24UglAnXIMss%2BmExMCkpQOESDdMWfnWxua0W%2BjAgRthPjxrIu8Y9keysPshpgRl3At0QwY8G8EoTGGTuADX8e5Ue1YYm4HFsr0JCC0%2Bh7gjfTsx6Taq07W5l0EgVQJXEDDw5XIs7KkM%2FlZabMA2yCGX6GAlhlg0QF%2Bi5QD0NAGXia%2BPwgnl6JTAvu72QpeOzBXTCZD9iCkt545hOq%2FLJsA2mOA%2FYkYpPUuAksbpYCWwBXFipEuVxVGeEVgCWqpdUumn6qeG1HTovo0O2EfOyyPE5x17s8gGuADXIpUCSltiNCVQO6%2BRRhywlsn%2Fhxl%2BW7nreMPeOmCmVlyu2uElwAE565VdR3BF1QgRaBLV2mJ4l9I7qtw2eKbrwHL%2BCQoBUloMrDVlF66dD6%2FrAsillS7eU2bwd%2BQLWc2LYzs1VyCv5Xc9zSwF6qNWxxJcRqc1JjTfs%2F3GMoF8Oh9QP18VxhMThz8kgqn%2F5Pry9NcGDijLTzeAguO%2B3z0bEdRcfToqfzKmuGSgV16tUCbyM3LkTu8gOOpLREdFvefYT53E3N7veNTnafYnJi3GGmzAEny9VRX1nKzclW4w5JAttEIkUKYfxUy%2Fdn1snl2A8hdw1BEGwsyb68v5|ampid:pL_CLK|clp:2334524

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/254832822086?hash=item3b55384746:g:8cgAAOSwCpVf~Y6J

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/154177276354?hash=item23e5ae89c2:g:bKwAAOSwxvNfoqJO


    I would go for the first metal one
     
  8. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I understand, thanks for the help
     
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    see links above
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, so I could do this?:

    1. Buy a metal enclosure and a transformer
    2. Turn the power off
    3. Remove the existing bell (the whole box pictured above)
    4. Fit the new enclosure + transformer, using the existing power and doorbell wires that are there
    5. Fit the Ring doorbell
    6. Turn the power back on
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds ok,

    I'd probably fit the ring door bell first, to avoid having the power off for too long.

    Which ring bell did you buy ? pro? 2?
     
  13. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got:

    Ring Doorbell Wired https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08LR3G17D/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Chime https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07WGJ9JGP/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Echo Show 5 which I can have in my home office to monitor the doorbell so I can see if it's worth running downstairs to answer the door https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07NJPT8W1/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    The doorbell and chime were £40 combined
    The Echo Show 5 (refurbished, but as new) was £32
     
  14. Techboy

    Techboy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I finally got around to installing it and it's all working really well! I decided to make a simple how-to video.
     
  15. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,996
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another myth like the one about shaver transformers. No bell transformers that I’ve seen come with such a warning. It is common for them to continuously supply a light in the bell push.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,590
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,590
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Finally found a reference to EN 61558-2-8

    Quoting from:- ABB_Modular DIN rail transformers_Brochure_EN.pdf

    Website https://library.e.abb.com/public/ad...Modular DIN rail transformers_Brochure_EN.pdf

    What do fail-safe transformer and non-inherently short-circuit proof transformer mean?

    Fail-safe transformer:

    Permanently fails to function during overload or short-circuit presenting no danger to the user or surroundings.

    It can be equipped with an external protective device, which reactivates after fault resolution.

    Non-inherently short-circuit proof transformer:

    Equipped with a PTC protective device which reduces the current in the input circuit when the transformer is overloaded or short-circuited and
    continues to function after fault resolution.

    How long can a bell transformer supply power?

    The reference standard EN 61558-2-8 does not specify a specific time but states “Bell and chime transformers are generally intended to supply domestic sound signalling equipment and other similar devices where the load is applied for short periods of time.”

    Moreover, regarding temperature testing it says “Temperatures are determined during a cyclic test of 20 cycles, each cycle consisting of 1 min operation with the simulated full load and 5 min operation with a load of 20% of the simulated full load.”

    Therefore using a bell transformer for continuous use determines a temperature rise of the transformer which could cause it to stop supplying power, unless the work/pause cycle allows the transformer to sufficiently cool down.

    Is it possible to downgrade bell transformer’s power to use it continuously?

    Using a transformer to supply a lower load than the nominal power reduces the power loss containing the temperature rise of a bell transformer used continuously.

    Nevertheless a lower load than the nominal one destabilizes the voltage output, which by standard has a tolerance of 15% at full load but 100% with no load!

    Since the relation is not linear, a transformer working closer to no-load conditions could give a voltage output between 15% and 100% higher than the nominal secondary voltage, endangering a device sensitive to voltage variations
     
Loading...

Share This Page