Draining hot water pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a competent DIYer and i am working on my brothers new house - i need to re do the plumbing in the kitchen (hot and cold taps) and also renew the pipework in the bathroom to fit isolation valves to the hot and cold tap (currently a direct pipe to tap).

He has an indirect heating system - a water tank in the loft, immersion heater in airing cupboard, and a boiler in the kitchen downstairs. i've never worked with this system before.

My plan of attack is this:

1. turn off stop tap in kitchen, and turn on all cold taps to drain cold feed pipework
2. Turn off the heating system - boiler in kitchen and immersion heater in airing cupboard
3. Do i need to lift up / isolate the ballcock in water storage tank in loft?
3. Turn off the red gate valve on the pipe that comes from the cold water tank in the loft, down into the bottom of the immersion heater.
4. Once i've turned off this gate valve, do i need to turn off any other valves before i turn on the hot water taps to drain the pipes.

Just to make it clear, i only want to drain the hot feed that supplies the taps, not drain the boiler system / immersion tank.

I assume that once pipework is done, it should be a simple case of opening the valve and he whole system should be working again?

Please may someone advise if i'm along the correct line of thinking?

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
If you turn off the gate valve into the cylinder then turn on hot taps the system will drain as far as the draw off from the top of the cylinder, a rush at first then stopping after a short time.

If you turn off the gate valve into the cylinder then turn on hot taps the system will drain as far as the draw off from the top of the cylinder, a rush at first then stopping after a short time.
thanks for your reply. so effectively i need to turn the gate valve off and turn the taps on until water runs dry, and then i can carry out the pipework and reopen the valve? Thanks