Easiest way to paint old pebblesdash render

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I started painting over the garage pebbledash today. What a pain!! I had a 4" brush but it is almost impossible to get into all the little nooks and crannies.

There must be an easier way?

I am using Dulux Weathershield, and I diluted with 15% water for the first coat because there are lots of areas where the render is fresh. I didn't prime the patched parts of the render.

IMG_20150906_144941.jpg

Sponsored Links
Hire spraying equipment, maybe.....personally I'd bash on with what you have - a roller isn't much use here.
John :)

I would have wacked a coat of stabilising solution on the lower half of the wall.

Using a brush is the best solution, spray goes everywhere, it aint so easy being a decorator , a six inch brush would be better :) you will need at least a couple of coats on that wall.

me a a dec pal done my mothers house which was dashed using brushes.we tried with rollers and that lasted all of 5 minutes.
its hard work but we found it was the best solution.

Sponsored Links
Ok. Thanks. I'll persevere with brushes then. I'll try a few different types.

I haven't painted the bottom part yet so still have time to use a stabilising solution if I need it. I have some waterproof PVA. Will that do it?

Its not a big wall so brush and a bit of patience is probably all that's needed. Re rollers, a decent quality 7 inch long pile roller would do that wall no problem, lather the roller in paint and roll the roller up slowly first and don't try to roll it too much. At the bottom I would buy some frog Blue tape and mask it off so you don't have to worry about cutting in.

I would definitely stabilise the bottom else it's just a waste of paint.

Then book it in to paint again next year.

Thanks! I bought a proper masonry roller with deep sheepswool pile. Wow! What a difference.