EcoFlam Oil Fired Boiler, Buzzing?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I'm no boiler engineer but I am mechanically and electronically minded so I'm hoping you can help me troubleshoot the problem as I have had an 'engineer' come out to look at it and he pointed to the fire stop valve being the problem which I am confident it is not!...

Red lockout light/reset switch was on, so I pressed it in, the blower motor started and ran for about 5 seconds but didn't sound like it completed the ignition sequence. The blower motor 'slowed' down then I was left with an electrical buzzing noise, about 5 seconds after that the lockout light came on again.

Took the assembly out and tried to turn the motor by hand, felt a bit stiff at first but then seemed to turn reasonably well considering it still had the oil pump attached. Turned it a few times by hand, put it back together and tried again. Same thing happened, it ran for about 5 seconds, didn't sound like it completed ignition sequence, then slowed down and started making the buzzing noise.

Any ideas what this could be? I'm uploading a video to YouTube and will post the link here so you can see. Happy to try anything, I'm freezing!!!

Thanks (Please note this question may be posted elsewhere to get some help as I am FREEZING!)

Sponsored Links
Good idea! Do you mean I should remove the oil pump from the motor completely? Doesn't look too difficult, it's a Danfoss pump, it's got 4 bolts on it that I can see.

...and the other question I have is there is a bit of a fuel smell coming from inside the furnace casing, where the blast tube goes through, looks a bit damp with fuel in there. Is this a problem? Picture attached:

Sponsored Links
Remove pump completely. 3 grub screws and high pressure oil connection.

I'm guessing the buzzing is the fuel solenoid opening fuel line, then due to photocell seeing no flame, lockout.

So you will problaby be getting a small amount of fuel dribbling out the nozzle.