Electric cooker installation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. I'm looking into how to install my new electric cooker, but I'm a novice so could really use some help. I'm hoping that it's just a matter of wiring the cooker to the terminal outlet already installed in my kitchen (with all of the electrics turned off at the mains, of course), but I know it's not always as simple as that because there's the consumer unit, wire thickness, etc to think about as well.

So I was hoping if I post up all the details I've got so that I could get some advice on how to proceed. The cooker has a total load rating of 12.6kW (although I suppose this is only if every hob and both ovens are on at max power at the same time). It's this cooker:

http://www.smeguk.com/product/suk62cmx8/

I will have to buy the cooker wire to connect it to the terminal outlet, but the wire leading to the consumer unit is 6mm. Here's some pictures of the CU for the other necessary details:

dqno0h.jpg

2dhibug.jpg

So am I good to go, or am I looking at a major PITA installation involving ripping cable out my walls :confused:

Sponsored Links
You're good to go with no wall-bashing or cable ripping required.

The cooker has a total load rating of 12.6kW (although I suppose this is only if every hob and both ovens are on at max power at the same time)
You suppose right, but even when (if) they are, once they are up to temperature they all start cycling on and off, so your 12.6kW cooker is actually regarded as a 5.2kW one:

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Book/6.2.1.htm

the best thing to do is to fit 6mm2 cable from the outlet to your cooker, that way the cable is protected correctly by the MCB, you could use 4mm2 on a 32a but for the couple of quid difference you'll be better off with 6mm.

worst case scenario there is you turn everything on at once and it trips, you'll soon learn not to do that

Sponsored Links