Electric underfloor heating in a bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have a bathroom which is quite small I'm size, the overall size is 2.4m x 1.7m. It will have a bath 1700mm x 600mm. It will also have a vanity set which is going to be another 300mm depth. The space in the middle will probably be 1.5m x 1.5m or 1.5 x 1.7m tops. This will all be on a suspended flooring within a timber frame construction.

I will like to have a small electric underfloor heating. I have no experience of them, I wanted to know which type/make one should be looking at and whether there are any gotchas to be wary of.

Do the electric underfloor heating mats also work with timers as I only plan for it to come on for 30 - 45 mins daily during the week.

I will also have a normal central heating radiator in the bathroom as well.

Thanks in advance .

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Yes it can be used with a timer.

However - what do you expect / want it to do?
2m² will be totally inadequate for heating the room, so the best you can expect is for it to warm the floor slightly - and that's assuming the floor is fully insulated under the heating elements, and it's been switched on for long enough.
Electricity is also the most expensive option for heating anything.