Electric underfloor heating tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I had porcelain tiles put down in March and my electrician has only had time recently to wire up the underfloor heating. The thermostat is a Devi touch, with multiple mats and using a double pole fused spur. The thermostat recognises that the floor temp is 21.7 degrees celsius but the moment I try and increase it by even 0.5 of a degree it trips my new consumer unit after a few minutes. Below is a link to the video showing what happens. I am a complete novice and I notice the red light on the smart meter flashes like crazy when I turn the temp up, what does this red light signify? I have spoken to my electrician and said he will come down to take a look but is busy for a couple of weeks and wanted to see if I could resolve this myself:

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
Sponsored Links
The red light indicates the amount of electricity being used, faster flashes = more used and therefore more cost.

Depends on what's tripping as to what the problem is, it's either an overload due to incorrect installation or an RCD tripping because the element(s) have been damaged.
There is no video.

incorrectly wired, or nail through a cable. Turn it off, remove the fuse in the FCU, do not touch it, call a competent electrician.

Sponsored Links
What's shown in the video is entirely normal - with the heating turned on, more power is used and the light on the meter flashes more quickly.
It will do the same for any added load such as a kettle.

Please add a photo or the 'new consumer unit' and a clear image of exactly what is tripping.

Thank you. Please find attached photos as discussed of the unit and I have circled the MCB which trips. The value on there is B20 if that helps.

And you are correct, I just turned the kettle on and it blinks just as fast as in the video.

Attachments

• IMG-2143.jpg
    IMG-2143.jpg
    189.4 KB · Views: 308
  • IMG-2142.jpg
    IMG-2142.jpg