Electric Zap !!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've called it a zap because I don't believe it's full mains.

In my utility room I have a wall mounted boiler, washing machine, tumble dryer and a metal sink. Today I lent over to remove the clothes from the washing machine and steadied myself by holding onto the sink. I got an electric shock!

Now I'm not an electrician but have a degree in electronics so I understand a small bit of the theory. However, I can't fathom this out.

If I use a digital multimeter, it show about 170 volts ac between the sink and any metalwork on the machines or their earth leads. However, if I switch off the boiler supply at the fused spur switch on the wall, the voltage disappears (as does the zap 'cos I tried it!).

The sink itself does not appear to be earthed (i.e. no continuity between it and the earth leads), although it is all metal with metal pipework feeding metal taps.

Any ideas why the sink could be affected by the boiler being switched on please?

The house is 6 months old so I am contacting the builder tomorrow. I have previously asked him about a slightly noisy telephone line which reduced my dial-up internet connection speed also when the boiler is on. We did not resolve this problem as I got ADSL instead.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Sounds like someone has put a nail/screw through the cable from the FCU for the boiler. It sounds like it has not completely broken any cables but enough to cause problems. Is there any voltage on the boiler casing or the pipework feeding it?

If you take the front off the spur for the boiler and disconnect the outgoing side, then turn the spur switch on is the problem still there or does it go away. This would for sure tell you that the outgoing cable is damaged.

Also it could be a live to earth fault on the boiler.