70 volt potential from appliances to earth

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not an electrician, but I'll get one in. In the meantime, for safety and to see if I can use them:

Had a (bit) of a flood in the laundry (overflowing sink). No more than a couple of mm on the floor. More a very big leak. Moved tumble dryer and washing machine out to mop up.

When pushing tumble dryer back in made contact with stainless steel sink. Bit of a tingle. Tried it a few more times, same thing.

So, out with (digital) voltmeter. With the tumble dryer plugged in, but the power on the socket OFF, there's about 70 volts a.c. between the bare metal case at the back of the tumble dryer and the sink. Though I can't see that the sink is actually earthed anywhere. Same between the tumble dryer and the gas supply to the boiler (which I think is the only continuous metal pipework).

The washing machine is plugged into the same socket, and the same thing happens there (except I can't get from the washing machine to the gas, so just testing to the sink).

It's as though 70 volts has got onto the earth (or the neutral?) of that socket. Maybe. The whole installation has RCDs at the consumer unit, which is about 3 years old. And none of them have tripped through this.

I've just 'tested' by touching the back of the tumble dryer and the back of my hand on the gas. Definitely more than a tingle, won't be doing that again, I'm on beta blockers as it is. Still not tripped anything. The RCDs (MK) have a test button and all seems OK.

As I say it looks like the washing machine is the same, so probably the double socket rather than the appliances.

Questions:

1. Any ideas as to cause?

2. Are they safe to use (for the next few days), given that none of the touching-two-things-at-once as tripped the RCD?

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the reply.

You mean the thing that the Yorkshire Electricity Board (in my case) did? They changed us onto PME about 15 years ago.