untrained question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi im planning on taking a spur from a double plug socket in my house, this plug socket powers both tumble dryer and washing machine and is close to 13a when both appliances are on (or so i gathered)..
As this socket has 2 wires going in/out of it from my understanding i can spur straight from this, to a new socket which may be using quite a bit of power in the winter when appliances are on (1200w heater in winter ect)

i tryed running an extention cable of the double socket last winter, and when the tumble dryer, washing machine and heater was on at the same time, it would trip...

so really hoping to here that a spur can handle 13a even if the socket its spured from is at its limit

im not a trained electrician but can be good with my hands with the right guidance.

as far as i know the best thing to do would be extend the ring main ?
but its something i just cant do..

thanks in advanced for reading/replying:) many thanks
terry

Sponsored Links
hi im planning on taking a spur from a double plug socket in my house, this plug socket powers both tumble dryer and washing machine and is close to 13a when both appliances are on (or so i gathered)..
As this socket has 2 wires going in/out of it from my understanding i can spur straight from this, to a new socket which may be using quite a bit of power in the winter when appliances are on (1200w heater in winter ect)
If it is part of the ring final circuit then you can run a spur from it.
But......

i tryed running an extention cable of the double socket last winter, and when the tumble dryer, washing machine and heater was on at the same time, it would trip...
Was this the MCB that tripped or the reset button on the extension cable. If you had all three running at once on the extension cable then it is likely to have been the extension cable which may only be rated for 10Amps. So there shouldn't be an issue with the spur.