Electrical setup for catering trailer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

I'm converting an old horsebox into a catering trailer & have got to the stage where I need to add plug sockets & switches. The most power hungry item of kit I have is a 900W water heater which forms part of my handwash water system & which, I think, requires a 13amp fuse. I also have 3 fridges (2 x 300W & 1 x 240W) which I believe each need a 3amp fuse.

The rest of the electrics are for interior & exterior LED lights & a few spare plug sockets for charging phones & a bluetooth speaker / radio.

I was wondering if anybody can direct me as to the type of Consumer Unit that I need, what kind of RCD & MCBs it should contain & finally the kind of weatherproof, surface socket I should get as the exterior inlet?

I need to be able to connect to a mains supply where available & a small LPG generator when I'm off the grid.

I'm very new to this kind of thing so if I've left out any important details please let me know & I'll provide anything I can.

Thank you in advance.

Michael

Sponsored Links
& finally the kind of weatherproof, surface socket I should get as the exterior inlet?

That comment shows your electrical knowledge is inadequate for this type of installation. The use of a catering trailer brings with it very heavy responsibilities and serious consequences if something goes wrong.

Thanks for your reply & you're absolutely correct, I have no experience of this kind of thing, hence the original query. I'm trying to fully cost the installation with a view to purchasing all of the equipment & then hiring an electrician to install everything. I'm trying to do as much research & prep work as I can myself to both keep costs down & give me a better understanding of the installation.