Electrician Self Study?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

There is a decent chance that I may be made redundant in a few months and being only 23, I am considering a career change (currently an engineer in IT). Becoming an installation electrician has always interested me and I am considering giving it a go.

I have read quite a bit already and starting with C&G 2330 Level 2 seems to be the way to go.

Is this something I can study for at home with books and then take the exam?....I am a complete novice at this :)

I did a search but nothing answered my specific question

Thanks

Sponsored Links
//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=256112&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

You need to learn from many homes, offices, warehouses, industrial units, hotels ect. Could you become a chef from never going in the kitchen and never using any ingredients but reading Delia's guide?

The 2330 is the way to start. Get enrolled, you are going to need to get an appreticship to gain important experience in installation methods, techniques, hints and tricks, especially in domestic work, being able to get yourself familiar with house construction from years gone by and understanding how to get from A to B and Comply will pay dividends. Also fault finding, this is another skill which is aquired through logic, learning but mainly experience.

Government targets for colleges have resulted in most colleges refusing to take outside candidates for exams as it tends to reduce their pass rate and lower the college status.

So to home study and then take exam is not easy. Some private colleges will allow you to sit exams only but you need to live near a big city to find them.

The house wiring part of trade has dried up in main and to get a job you need a track record and this is not time to swap trades.