Electricity in shed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey all!
I am building a concrete block shed and summer kitchen at the back of my garden. I am going to run water, internet and power there.
Do i need a qualified electrician to sign it off?
I have some experience with running installations so i can do it safely etc.
Also i am not 100% familiar with the regs. I intend to run all below the frost level, at around 60cm depth. If i run cable in a conduit (can i use standard one or do i need a double walled one?) does it still have to be an armoured cable? These are of course lot more expensive. Also running cat6 eth cable, would it be okay to run it in the same conduit or would you suggest to run a separate one?

Sponsored Links
Same reply as you had on the Screwfix forum.

You need a registered electrician to design the supply, install test and notify the whole enchilada.

Of course it must be armoured cable. how do you know that 6mm is big enough?

not good plan to have mains and Ethernet in the same duct. There will be electromagnetic interference issues.