electrics for en suite

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I am changing a top floor box room into a ensuite for the adjacent master bedroom. I know all about planning and building regs etc that are required. I am just wondering in relation to the electric sockets that are already in the box room, would the electrician make these redundant but would he be able to use wiring from one of these sockets and re run it for electrics for the new shower. I know there will be probably more to it than just that but just for a rough idea.
Thanks in advance
Lee

Sponsored Links
absolutely not..!!!

the sockets in the room will need to be totally removed, and any joints need to be accessible, so no sticking it in a JB under a tiled floor etc...

Hi,
I have no experience of electrics and was just asking out of interest, i know the sockets are removed but how is the wiring terminated from the old sockets, and can any of the original wiring be used to feed the shower as i thought the original wiring would be okay.

your electrician will need to run a completely new line from your MCB for the shower as its a completely differently rated cable than those used for the ring supplying the sockets

the only use you might be able to make of the existing cabling supply the existing sockets is to pull it to the other side of the wall its on a supply a socket in the adjoing room(s)

Sponsored Links
your electrician will need to run a completely new line from your MCB for the shower as its a completely differently rated cable than those used for the ring supplying the sockets

How can you possibly say that? Maybe its just a pump mixer without any heating element.
Lets ask that question first then to divingmoose:

Can you say what sort of shower you are planning and what it is rated at?
Also, does your consumer unit have an RCD fitted?