Electrics on a central heating system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Im a gas engineer and I have an ongoing problem that I think is down to the electrics. No power going from the junction box to the pump, no power to the boiler, and the room stat doesnt click. The three port valve motor was stuck but it was replaced and now motors across when there is a demand from the programmer which has power to it. All the components are wired into the same junction box but a new development is when I changed the circuit board on the boiler it blew the light switch in the room where all the troublesome equipment is. I havent touched the junction box only to visually see if there is a loose connection.
Im not going to attempt to repair any electrics on it but would like to know if anyone has an explanation as I think the problem is an external electrical problem rather than a central heating system one.
Can any one explain?

Sponsored Links
by blowing the light switch what exactly do you mean?

The boiler shouldnt be on a lighting circuit. Does the pump start when there is demand from the programmer for HW? or no power to the pump in any situation. The room stat should click if mechanical, and you should still here a relay operating if its electronic unless its a solid state relay.

what kind of heating system is it? gravity HW pumped heating? Y plan, S plan??

more info needed

by blowing the light switch what exactly do you mean?

The boiler shouldnt be on a lighting circuit. Does the pump start when there is demand from the programmer for HW? or no power to the pump in any situation. The room stat should click if mechanical, and you should still here a relay operating if its electronic unless its a solid state relay.

what kind of heating system is it? gravity HW pumped heating? Y plan, S plan??

more info needed

Thanks for the response