1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

I can't find the fuse for the heating system

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by zug, 23 Oct 2017.

  1. zug

    zug

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello.
    I have a combi boiler in a Y plan system. I have an airing cupboard with the pump and valve upstairs and the boiler, controller and thermostat downstairs. I believe all of the electrics go into the junction box upstairs which then feeds the valve, pump, boiler and controller downstairs.
    However, there is no electric to any of those components. I have checked the mains feed coming into the junction box and it's dead.
    So I thought this would be a fuse that has blown. I have read that these systems are usually fed from a 3Amp spur. However, I cannot find the fuse anywhere. The RCD hasn't tripped, there is no isolated feed from the RCD to the heating system - only the Water heater which works fine. Every socket in the house still works.

    So I am at a loss. Should I expect to see a fuse box somewhere for the heating system? Is it likely to be near the airing cupboard or the boiler/controller?
    I have looked everywhere but cannot find it.
    Thanks!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It'll be somewhere.

    It's likely to be wherever the idiot who thought the right thing do do was to hide it hid it.

    You'll just need to follow the supply cable back....
     
  4. JM2

    JM2

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Retired in:- Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depending upon age, often the main feed is via a fused spur to the boiler or boiler's timer/programmer.
    The fused spur or switched spur is what is hidden but if you have a flex from the boiler itself or the programmer you can follow that.
    - The Y plan kit elsewhere is often fed from the programmer.
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,456
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As above. It should be near the boiler or the wiring centre..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. zug

    zug

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can see the mains coming into the back of the programmer which I think is then going onto the boiler and upstairs to the cupboard.
    However I checked the mains input with a multimeter and there is nothing. No sign of a fuse near by either. I've called an electrician to come and have a look.
     
  7. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,621
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should be looking for something similar to this?:


    The location of it depends upon the preference of the installer, but normally as has been said it is located near to the boiler so that it can easily be switched off when it's serviced, or near the wiring centre which is usually the airing cupboard (occasionally it is connected to the one for any immersion heater) or it may be next to the programmer.

    Has the boiler been moved or replaced at some point? if so the original FCU might have been used.

    If it's in the kitchen has this been altered? I found one once behind a wall mounted cupboard.
     
  8. zug

    zug

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, that's exactly what I'm looking for. I can't find it anywhere.
     
  9. zug

    zug

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nevermind - I have just found it. Can't believe I didn't see it all along.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. footprints

    footprints

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,466
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is a combi chances are it is a replacement, I bet the isolation is in the same position as the original boiler was sited.
    Where was it then?
     
  12. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good, if a 3 amp fuse has blown, it probably because it should have a 5 amp. Don't worry about causing any damage, the boiler will be internally protected. Don't go above 5 amp though. Elsewhere in Europe boilers are on 16 amp circuits and there no reports of fires or electrocutions.
     
  13. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,180
    Thanks Received:
    3,149
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're quite probably right (about electrocutions and fires not being due to boilers being on 16A circuits) but, as a matter of interest, where did you get your information on "fires and electrocutions in the EU"? If the rest of the EU is anything like the UK, getting useful data on such matters, other than crude totals of electrocutions and of fires which the Fire Service, maybe through lack of better ideas, deem to be 'electrical', is next-to-impossible.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,099
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I know it isn't what you wrote - but the implication, if what Winston wrote is not true, is that they just put up with fires, injuries and deaths for the want of an FCU?
     
  15. stillp

    stillp

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or, as in my house, both. That took some working out!:eek::rolleyes::mad:
     
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,180
    Thanks Received:
    3,149
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose that would probably be the implication. There are certainly national differences - for example, in the US they seem to 'put up' with numbers of deaths due to a number of causes which I doubt we would find acceptable in the UK.

    However, I was giving Winston the benefit of the doubt and assuming that he was telling the truth. I've spent a lot of time and effort looking for decent detailed statistics on injuries, deaths and fires due to electricity and have failed fairly miserably. I therefore wondered whether Winston had located a 'secret' source of such data that I had so far not been able to find.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. stillp

    stillp

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are, or were, some on Eurostat, but I can't find them now since they reorganised the EU web site.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page