Epoxy fixings

Discussion in 'Building' started by footprints, 2 Oct 2016.

1. footprints

footprints

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,
    I have a problem with bricks that are very brittle (I think they are West Hoathly bricks) I am trying to get a fix for a motorised awning, the standard supplied fixing is a 14 x 75 mm wallplug.

I tried one getting it as central as possible in the brick, the plug fitted the drilled hole perfectly, but as soon as the screw fixing was started you could hear cracking from the brick.

Obviously an expanding bolt is out of the question that would only cause more damage.

I think my only option is a chemical fixing, I have never used them before so want to buy the most reliable ones I can find.
    Any recommendations please?

2. Sponsored Links
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. footprints

footprints

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for the quick reply newboy I'll have a look at the site you linked to. Traditional Fischer products I have used in the past have worked well.(y)

4. Dopeydaz

Dopeydaz

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    I've just used rawl plug stuff. It's really good. I used a 14mm hole about 2/3rds the depth of the brick for a bit of 12mm threaded rod. Cleaned all the dust out of the hole by blowing into it with my compressor(a bit of tube and blowing with your mouth would work too. But shut your eyes!) filled the hole about 3/4 full of resin. Put the threaded rod in, twist it, pull it out and wiggle it a few times to make sure the resin is covering the rod. Leave it to set and use a washer and Nut on it!

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Nozzle

Nozzle

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom