1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Ethernet between two houses

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by gbrown100, 15 Sep 2020.

  1. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,766
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you don't know now then how can you say
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I far as I am aware we can't allow talk through with voice, but we can connect packet radio to the internet, not sure on rules, but when I used packet it was used a lot where you could not set up a HF link.

    In USA they can use talk through, it was quite amusing listening to wife's talking to loved ones on Antarctica, they seemed unaware the whole world could listen in. Of course I was ideally placed as a VP8.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It that the same as the party line, press the button to get a line, dad's house when sold still had the GPO earth stake for the party line, in fact the guy who fitted the CU in 2004 connected it up as the main earth, around 4 mm² bare copper.
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,766
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No a Private Wire was a point to point pair and not part of the normal telephone system other than the pair would use existing cables of the telephone network where possible.
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,766
    Thanks Received:
    2,289
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hang on a minute.....

    If you have the required fibre connection to you house and the route to the other location is through your garden then maybe the best solution is for you to grant a wayleave across your property for the fibre supplier to install a cable from their street cabinet to the location.

    That way your system is not affected and you could charge a rent for the wayleave
     
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry private wire is anything but the party line then.
     
  8. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,618
    Thanks Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I understand it, it is the neighbour of the OP's friend who has the internet connection, and wants to share it with the OP's friend.

    The implication of what the OP has said is that the ISP is, for some reason. not prepared ("not able") to provide a fibre connection to his friend's house, but maybe they could be persuaded to by going through his friend's neighbour's property (with a wayleave).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  9. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,184
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Big buisinesses tend to be based around their own bureaucratic rules and broadband is a relatively cheap mass-market service that is deployed on a bulk basis rather than an expensive custom service. Combine this with a gradual rollout and it's easy to find yourself in a situation where your neighbours section of the network has been "upgraded", but yours has not.

    Openreach does offer a "fiber on demand" service, which AIUI is available anywhere you can get FTTC, but it can be rather expensive as you have to pay for the build-out and only a small number of ISPs offer it.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ParttimeDIYer

    ParttimeDIYer

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like you need a wifi P-T-P connection. However the current round of broad band adverts quote that 50m isn't an issue so perhaps just give them your router codes and make sure both ends are line of sight?
     
  12. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,621
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm surprised that nobody mentioned that earlier!:whistle::whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,244
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the 50mm with repeaters which you pay for monthly !!!

    So may as well buy your own stuff
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,618
    Thanks Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If one needed repeaters to get 50mm range, I think there might be a problem :)

    More seriously, though, I can 'see', and have occasionally connected to ('in emergencies'!) WiFis of neighbours more than 50m away.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,618
    Thanks Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    duplicate deleted
     
  16. scbk

    scbk

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    762
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Location:
    Ross-shire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We're the same, the internet comes from a dish on a hillside, we don't even have a phone line to the house. I think the speed is up to about 50mbps, provided by a local company.
     
  17. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,618
    Thanks Received:
    2,839
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We at least do have a phoneline but, as I said, until recently it was copper all the way back to the exchange, hence of little use to man or beast. I seem to be in the middle of the two ranges which my ISP claims - I generally get 15-20 Mbps, which is more than enough for my needs.

    Kind Regards, John
     
Loading...

Share This Page