Ethernet cable, CCTV, RJ45 etc. etc.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a problem and wondered if someone would be kind enough to help me out please. I'm not an electrician or anything like that.
Basically I have a Hikvision CCTV system with a PTZ camera that crashed about a month ago. NO LINK is the message on the monitor screen. I went round and "fiddled" where the CAT5 cable has joints, one near the VCR and one in my loft and found that when I got a bit stroppy with the one in the loft the camera came back on-screen.
It lasted about 2 weeks and then went blank again. So I bought a circuit tester and with me in the loft with the main part of the tester attached to the cable and my Wife sitting with the "repeater" part of the tester with the RJ45 plugged into it (and with me shouting the numbers down the stairs !) I determined that the cable from the loft to the NVR was O.K. I assumed that the RJ45 connector was at fault on the one end of the cable that goes out to the camera and so I bought a crimping set with push through connectors, practised a few times on some spare cable, and then made a new connection.
But how do I test the complete cable if I climb up and put one unit of the tester on the cable where it attaches inside the camera and with the other end of the tester right down at the other end where the cable goes into the NVR ? Apologies if it's a stupid question.