Expanding Foam - Argument... Please help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I have just had an argument with a mate who is a Painter and Decorator by trade.

I have just put up some new fascias on my garage as the wooden T&G boards were rotten as a pear, i am trying to minimize drafts and try and maintain a bit of heat in there as some of my tools are getting a little rusty, i have had to bring all of my power tools in the house now.

Anyway, My garage has an asbestos roof and i was using expanding foam in the gaps to try and block out drafts, only my brand new can of wickes foam was useless, would not produce any foam but when upright i got solvent so i was complaining that the foam was rubbish... My mate turned round and said,
"Yep, its the worst thing ever, you should use some gapfil"

so i disagreed and he turns round and tells me that it is "Banned" on construction sites, especially for anyone who has a CSS card, i assume he means CSCS card??

This is news to me, by trade i am a second fix joiner but been out of the trade for 5 years now so i just want to know.

Is he right? or, is Expanding foam still used on sites? especially new-builds?

Sponsored Links
Expanding foam (apart from intumescent) should be banned if it isn't. A carpenter/window fitter should make the plug fit the hole. Not make the hole fit the plug.

Sponsored Links
Expanding foam (apart from intumescent) should be banned if it isn't. A carpenter/window fitter should make the plug fit the hole. Not make the hole fit the plug.

Sadly a carpenter/window fitter, can't make a wrongly measured window bigger. Sure , he can add bits of timber/plastic, but what's wrong with the manufacturer doing their job properly in the first place?
Expanding foam does have it's uses. ;) ;) ;)

Sadly a carpenter/window fitter, can't make a wrongly measured window bigger. Sure , he can add bits of timber/plastic, but what's wrong with the manufacturer doing their job properly in the first place?