Extending a circuit.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In my bedroom I have only two single sockets on opposite sides of the room and I would like to add at least one more socket but don't where to run the wires, the wires appear to run under the floor which I can't get to as it has been laminated.

Currently I have the skirting boards off the wall as I'm wallpapering the room, so was wondering is it possible to run wires behind skirting boards or is this a bad idea? I'm a complete beginner but I like to at least try my DIY jobs myself before getting someone in.

I've created a diagram (on my profile) to better describe what I mean. Also ideally I would like to put a socket inside a built in cupboard to power a TV that I would like to mount above the fireplace.

My original thoughts on this was to run wires behind the skirting boards but what would I do to get around the fireplace?

Any comments appreciated, thanks :D

Sponsored Links
If you are not willing to lift floorboards your optioned are limited.
You can chase in to wall and run vertical or horizontal of the socket outlets (safe zones) unless you either protect the cable mechanically or bury cable 50mm in to wall but you must also comply to the building regulations of depth of chase to block/brick depth. No more than 1/3 on the vertical and 1/6 on the horizontal.
Other options are run along top of skirting in trunking.

So if I was to chase it into the wall do you have any siggestions for getting around the fireplace? Thanks, for answering.

Sponsored Links
Up from socket to within 150mm of ceiling, then chase around the chimney breast keeping cable within the 150mm horizontal band of wall and ceiling angle, then once directly over where the second socket is to be added, straight down. As permitted safe zones.
Also you will require RCD protection, if this is not already offered to circuit.