Extending a ring circuit... does this look right please?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by DIYerHELP, 28 Oct 2009.

  1. DIYerHELP

    DIYerHELP

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, currently I only have one double socket in a bedroom. I'm wanting to add two single sockets to the ring from the existing double socket.

    Does this look right please?

    The blue wire is the existing and the yellow wire will be the new. The two 30 amp junction boxes will be used to join to the existing blue wire.

    Thank you for any help.

     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the ring final is okay, but the method of terminating the joints, if the Junction Boxes are not easily accessible is not.
    As they should be accessible for inspection and testing, so if under floors, in ceiling voids or buried, this would be difficult.
    So the methods best used to do this is either install new cables for extending or crimp and heat shrink the joints.
    Useful links:
    http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:extend_ring
    http://wiki.diyfaq.org.uk/index.php?title=Cable_crimping
    http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=197675&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Aragorn84

    Aragorn84

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    1,075
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For starts i dont see why you need the top junction box at all?

    The wires going to the same place before and after, so just use the original wire?

    As for the lower JB, cant you reroute the blue wire so it reaches the new socket directly? Or find where it comes from/goes to, and run a new wire from there, so theres no joints at all?

    Also, i'd suggest installing doubles rather than singles.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. DIYerHELP

    DIYerHELP

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks chaps for the replies.

    Yes, I don't need the top junction box! Not enough wire to re-route to the bottom socket.
     
  6. Aragorn84

    Aragorn84

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    1,075
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cant you replace the wire right back to the next socket?
     
  7. TicklyT

    TicklyT

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    3,481
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can't pull one of the existing cables back to a new socket where you want it, why not put an extra socket in place of where you would have put a junction box (providing the location isnt totally incongruous), then cable to your new sockets from there.

    Very little difference in cost
    No junction boxes (accessible or concealed)
    An extra socket you might even find a use for one day
     
  8. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What method is being used in regards as routing cable, buried or surface mounted?
    I'd try if possible do avoid jointing and install new cabling.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. DIYerHELP

    DIYerHELP

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No (shame) I can't replace the wire right back to the next socket. Trickly idea is a good one as the wire will be buried under the floorboards.

    Thanks for this advice.
     
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where is the existing double socket?

    Would it look bad to replace it with two singles?
     
  12. RB2004

    RB2004

    Joined:
    13 Apr 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, sorry to sound like im throwing a spanner in the works.. not that most people will care anyway lol..as most people seem to take the view they do what they like in their own house and im not going to start yet another debate/argument on the whole part p stuff.. but I wanted to make sure you was aware just in case you wasnt.. then you can make an informed decision on if to go ahead or not.

    But wouldnt this be notifiable work under part P?

    Because I thought the limitations were that you could renew a single damaged cable, fittings/accessories replacing like for like.. or add a single socket to a circuit but anything more requires notification or a registered self certification electrician.

    This proposed job would require new cabling and includes 2 extra sockets.
     
  13. martinxxxxxx

    martinxxxxxx

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    1,033
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    or one extra : twice. :D
     
  14. 1john

    1john

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there room to make the required join with crimps in the existing socket?
     
  15. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No.


    Read Schedule 2B.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page