extending GU10 fitting

Reaction score
Country
United States Minor Outlying Islands
Hi there.....I am a complete novice at electrical stuff, so sorry if my wording is not right... in my new house there is no bulb in one fitting/socket (the bit the bulb fits into!) in the bathroom ceiling. when I have looked at it I have found that the fitting/socket will not reach to the hole in the ceiling that has been made for it....it is a few inches short....so any bulb fittied would not reach. is there a simple (bearing in mind my ineptitude) extension that I can buy that fits into the GU10 fitting/socket easily and ends in another GU10 fitting/socket. if so, can you please leave a link in your reply. I have searched online and not found anything...I found this http://www.lightinthebox.com/e27-to...b-flexible-extend-adapter-socket_p846034.html but this converts an E27 to Gu10.....what I want is something just like this but gu10 to gu10 many thanks

Sponsored Links
Since USA not sure my answer will be valid. However some years ago we got the cold cathode lamp in the main replaced with LED today, but the lamp was longer and some fittings were made for these long lamps. I will guess that's the case with you. In the main the fitting is not suitable for a tungsten lamp as they get too hot. However you say inches and the cold cathode was less than one inch longer.

There are more compact adaptors so you could get a GU10 to ES then ES to GU10. Also I have a SES lamp LED which is very like a GU10 lamp and I am sure you could use a GU10 to SES and then use a SES lamp. However here in the UK we have E14 = SES and E27 = ES, plus standard BA22d. I am told in USA you are still imperial so sizes are not quite the same. So I would suggest you find a forum for USA or at least ask moderators to move this post to "
Electrics Outside of the UK" section.

When you tell us that you live in the USA, what reason(s) should we have for disbelieving you?

screenshot_800.jpg

Sponsored Links