Converting L1 ceiling light fittings into E27-ready fittings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Mods note - moved from your projects forum.
Good afternoon, UK-based DIY-ers

A query from a DIY-novice here:

In their great wisdom, the builders of my flat decided to install L1 light fittings to all 6 of my ceiling lamps. L1 bulbs don't serve my purposes, so I want to convert these L1 light fittings into something that can take E27 bulbs. I understand the best way to do so is to turn the L1 fitting into a GU10 fitting, and then add an E27 adapter to it.

Is this correct? If so, any advice on how to do so? (The more concrete the better: I know absolutely nothing about light fittings)

Many thanks in advance
Beregard

Sponsored Links
Hi Sircere, it's a pendant (hanging light). Hard to take a picture of the inside of the fitting, but it has a small protruding bit that differentiates it from a GU10 bulb and prevents from fitting anything other than L1 bulbs. https://www.mygreenlighting.co.uk/info/lamp_caps.html

Attachments

• PXL_20210307_171210135.jpg
    PXL_20210307_171210135.jpg
    147.3 KB · Views: 226
Then simply change the pendant, very easy and cheap to do , two wires is all you need to change.

You could change the holder only as well , lots of options , no need to buy a converter

Sponsored Links
L1 refers to a superseded building regulation designed to force new build owners to use energy saving bulbs, for the old BA22d was use three side locator pins instead of 2, with the GU10 a dimple in centre of holder that goes into hole in centre of bulb.

The problem is it was UK only so loads of LED GU10 have not got the hole so in so will not fit.

Not sure if any other L1 versions, but with BA22d people bent the holder to fit the 2 pin version so rather dangerous. Specially as so easy to swap the bulb holder.

The problem with E27 is line and neutral matter, with BA22d it does not, so safest to convert to BA22d.