Extending shower tray over electric underfloor heating??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry, newbie here. If this should have been posted in the Electrics or Flooring section please feel free to move.

The previous owners installed electric underfloor heating in our ground floor bathroom, we cannot live without it as our only other heating in our home is the log burner but the heat from it doesn't reach the bathroom. We need to change some damaged wall tiles in the shower so while we're at it I've been thinking... Yeah, dangerous I know!!...

Our shower is in the corner, square and tiny but there is plenty of room for a larger tray. Installing a larger rectangular tray would go over a couple of floor tiles, under which there is obviously heating. The shower is raised off the ground to account for plumbing. We would have local tradesmen do the work but just trying to guesstimate how much work it will be as we cannot afford a whole new floor at present and rather like the current one. So my questions are... Can a raised shower tray cover approx 800mm of tiled underfloor heating with or without vents?? If we need to take up tiles and find heat mats running a long way across the room can these be cut and rewired or would we then be needing to take up the rest of the floor?? We don't want to start anything we can't afford to finish at this time and don't want to get tradesmen in just to be told it's not possible and we've wasted their time.

Many thanks for any help you can give. xx

Sponsored Links
I fitted electric under floor heating to mothers wet room, it was limited at the time as to what could be used, the chemical type is best as self regulating, but needs to be either covered with a earthed mat or have a earthed braid, we selected the latter, since resistive also needs a sensor in the floor to stop over heating, first job was to lift old floor, 9" of insulation then marine ply wood, then heating mat, then tiles.