Extra Socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm new to this and wondered if anyone could help. I'm trying to add some extra sockets in my bedroom and the only socket is in the far corner of the room. Someone has told me I can run a socket from a light switch, does anyone know if this is possible and how I would go about doing this?

Thanks

Paul

Sponsored Links
no. you can definatly not run a socket from a lighting circuit for general use.

Don't listen to that somebody, they have no idea whay they're talking about.

You're best employing the services of a competant electrician.

Blimey! Is it April Fool's Day already?

Doesn't time fly?

Lucia.

Sponsored Links
Don't listen to that somebody, they have no idea whay they're talking about.

You're best employing the services of a competant electrician.

Thanks for this, is it possible from the light switch or would you need to do it from further along the circuit?

Thanks again

Forget the lighting circuit. It's a no-go.

Please consult a competant electrician as I fear for the safety of you and others that share the property with questions like this.
To successfully DIY when it comes to electrics you need a good basic understanding of simple circuits. You don't have this yet.

Forget the lighting circuit. It's a no-go.

Please consult a competant electrician as I fear for the safety of you and others that share the property with questions like this.
To successfully DIY when it comes to electrics you need a good basic understanding of simple circuits. You don't have this yet.

Ok, that agin for this, I was listening to your original reply just trying to get a better understanding of what would be required.

Can you not read.????

It is not possible to connect a socket to a light switch. Period.
In many cases you cannot even connect a light up to a light switch so do not even think about it any more,.

OK?

Thought gone? Do you promise not to mention it again?

Fine.