1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Extractor fan isn't working?

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Keitai, 2 Nov 2019.

  1. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of my lights isn't working and when I unscrewed it was filled with white solid stuff, whatever that was? Looked like wires too were attached to it.

    The extractor fan also isn't working. What do I need to do? 20191102_121311.jpg 20191102_121318.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,489
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    I can't see the while solid stuff you mention, nor the wires. Please clarify.

    Are the bulb and the fan both parts in a cooker hood?

    What voltage is the bulb?

    When you tried a new bulb, did that work? Is the bulbholder damaged?

    When did this fault occur?

    Do the bulbs usually look like this?

    [​IMG]

    Or like this?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,489
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
  5. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    Photo of bulb. Tried to read other bulb and maybe its 50 but it's all smudged. The other bulb is working.

    Think the fan is separate if you mean the bulbs are not attached to fan I guess not as they unscrew and come out by themselves.

    How do I get fan working again?


    15727661076117967307186592559066.jpg
     
    Last edited: 3 Nov 2019
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,489
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    if it's a cooker extractor, there is probably a small PCB behind the switch assembly. For some reason they are prone to going wrong.If it is old the switch might be worn out.

    Did the bulb and the fan stop working at exactly the same time? It might have blown an internal fuse caused by the power surge, but it's odd that the other bulb still works.

    There is a slim chance you will find a replaceable fuse in there (not the same as in a 13A plug, but replacements are probably available if you can identify it). If it is from a major maker and relatively modern you may be able to order a replacement part.

    Have you got a multimeter? If you can safely access the internal connections you could track where the power is available, and where it stops.
     
  7. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    1,983
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The fan motors usually include an internal fusible thermal link, inside the motor windings. Idea is, if the motor seizes up, they will over heat and the fuse link will fail. They are not repairable. I suspect the light failure is probably a separate issue.

    The most economic fix, is to replace the entire cooker hood. They can be had on ebay for £60 and up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    14,705
    Thanks Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can be replaced with 5w led gu10, if you have one working light then you have power, has fan ever worked?
     
  9. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ,,) ,
    Yeah it stopped a month ago. It was in the flat when I moved in three yrs ago
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    14,705
    Thanks Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably needs replacement, do you know make,model?
     
  12. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    15727905326916482403303042722807.jpg 15727906368682891894493213996661.jpg
    Cant find a name on outside, but says HDA on inside label as in picture. Does it have to be same model or will anyone do from b and q.

    Photo of outside too
     
    Last edited: 3 Nov 2019
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,489
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    does it have an extractor duct through the wall or ceiling? older ones were often 100mm but they're now usually 125mm or 150mm

    If the filters were clogged that might have caused overheating

    look at your motor casing in case there is a red reset button on it.
     
  14. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    15727973268091231091906621561307.jpg
    From photo it looks like they go through ceiling. Where are the filters?
     
  15. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,489
    Thanks Received:
    3,167
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
  16. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    14,705
    Thanks Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It’s originally Howdens supplied unit , plenty of spares online or you could replace with similar , does not need to be the same .
     
  17. Keitai

    Keitai

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just took this out. Is this what u mean?

    How would you clean this?

    I tried a wet cloth yesterday 15728000245666134526084222058749.jpg
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page