FCU in Bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

This is my first post on here, after reading everyone else's for years, so please go gentle! I admire how much people come together to help each other and answer each other's questions. I understand how dangerous electrical work can be if done incorrectly, so, to introduce myself, i have 10 years of experience in electrical DIY, all of which i have had inspected and tested by a registered spark. This is the case this time, i just wish to do the work myself, and before use have it tested and registered.

I'd like to install a single switched FCU spurred off a 32A RCD protected ring final circuit, within the bathroom. It will be fused down to 3a for a bathroom Sonos music speaker. Having done the measurements, it falls in Zone 3/no zone. The bathroom has no extraneous conductive parts entering or exiting that i am aware of, and no bonding on any pipes as they are plastic throughout the house, except where they enter. The FCU will be situated top corner, furthest from all water sources and out of reach, and will not be cleaned with jets etc.

My questions is: is this the safest, simplest and most cost effective way of having an FCU in this room, or am i missing something? I am aware it is notifiable work, therefore will have my spark in to test, certify and notify once complete.

Thank you all in advance
Daniel

Sponsored Links
I'd like to install a single switched FCU spurred off a 32A RCD protected ring final circuit, within the bathroom. It will be fused down to 3a for a bathroom Sonos music speaker. Having done the measurements, it falls in Zone 3/no zone.
There is no longer a zone 3, so I presume it is 'out of zones'. What you propose would therefore be OK, theoretically subject to the manufactuer saying that the FCU is suitable for such an environment (but they usually don't comment on this!).