Feather edge fence 1st time

Sponsored Links
Nice - but it is normally accepted that the fair face would be presented to the neighbour's garden, rather than your's. No rules about it, but that would be the norm.

excellent really neat job bet your pleased with the results

i do hope you have "pinched" the adjacent board to avoid splitting
in other words you have a nail in one edge and the other is pinched behind the edge off the next board allowing movement so only one nail hole across the width

when i asked the people who supplied the fencing they told me to nail through the board so that the nail goes into the thin part of the one behind.
in other words 1 nail through 2 boards
thats what i done :?:

Sponsored Links
Looks good!
Can I ask you how long it took you? And do you think this is a job a total novice could take on?
I need to replace 17 6'x6' fence panels, plus gate, in the back garden (a public walkway is behind). I eventually also need to replace the front of house fences too.
Looking expensive! Hense thinking about DIY.
Would you recommend a particular type of fence panel? I have been looking at the cheap lap panels at approx £17 each, but are they a false economy and am I better off going with a more expensive type?
Any other hints and tips appreciated.
Thanks!

when i asked the people who supplied the fencing they told me to nail through the board so that the nail goes into the thin part of the one behind.

as it expands and contracts you will get splits around the nails

have a look at fences you pas and see if they are overlap or nail through both and look to see which slats crack and split

Looks good!
Can I ask you how long it took you? And do you think this is a job a total novice could take on?
I need to replace 17 6'x6' fence panels, plus gate, in the back garden (a public walkway is behind). I eventually also need to replace the front of house fences too.
Looking expensive! Hense thinking about DIY.