ferroli modena 102 help please:)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

just found this site and it seems great help to many people.

i have a new built house (2 years old) with this boiler installed.

about 4 months ago my friend had to change his pcb board??

(the fitter that looked at his boiler noticed that the plug socket should have a 3 amp fuse?? and it had a 13amp fuse)

i have changed mine to a 3amp fuse.

this week for the first time, my hot water has been becoming intermittent while im having a shower?? one second boiling hot the next freezing cold?

and the boiler is making more clicking noise as i guess the boiler keeps trying to kick in ( im far from an expert so please reply in laymans terms:)

is there any test i can do or try anything before i call someone out?

Thanks Phil

Sponsored Links
Not too sure about recent Ferollis but the older modenas are known for faulty thermistor problems. These are the little temp. sensors.

Not too sure about recent Ferollis but the older modenas are known for faulty thermistor problems. These are the little temp. sensors.

same on the modenas, dunno how technical you are but you could swap the thermisters over to confirm fault as it will switch to heating.

Sponsored Links
could be low gas pressure at boiler, you would need to get it checked.

may just be low pressure coming in and needs governor adjustment.
combined with US gas pipe then the boiler will cut out in DHW mode

Thanks for the help and a corgi engineer has just left and these are what has been done.

changed the thermistas (temp probes)

changed pcb circuit board

blown out the venturee

changed the high limit stat (top left)

checked gas inlet point which was 20.5mbar when boiler off which went to 18.5mbar when boiler fired up. ( in book it says minimum of 20mbar but engineer said anything above 18 was fine?

after all this we still had the same problem!!!!!!!!!