Filling gaps between plywood sheets or leave as is?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am attempting my first ever bit of real DIY, having removed a load of laminate from the bathroom floor of the house we bought, I am laying some plywood sheets onto the floorboards, and going to put self adhesive tiles on top of that.

I measured all the spaces and cut the sheets, but since I'm very new to it and I was using a handsaw and a pair of crap saw horses with no real stabilisation, I wasn't able to keep all the lines exactly straight, so there are areas where the sheets don't fit together exactly, with gaps of maybe 5mm or so as attached.

Is that going to be a problem once everything is screwed down and I start on the tiles? And if so, what can I use to fill them beforehand?

Thanks.

PXL_20240214_162525531.jpg

PXL_20240214_162536459.jpg

Sponsored Links
Yes mate. You should have had all cut edges facing walls and the factory edge butted up.
You be better with ring nails then screws for that plywood really. Is it 6mm or 4mm ?
You need to sand every joint and fill them with 2 coats of feather finish type screed

Yes mate. You should have had all cut edges facing walls and the factory edge butted up.
You be better with ring nails then screws for that plywood really. Is it 6mm or 4mm ?
You need to sand every joint and fill them with 2 coats of feather finish type screed

I don't know what most of what you said means, but it's 5.5mm.

Needs wood repair filler before tiling or gaps will show .

Ok thanks. I'll buy some and fill the gaps in then.

Sponsored Links
And consider a nice roll of vinyl, for a small area the commercial stuff makes sense and comes in more homely styles these days. Stick down tiles from BandQ or The Range are rubbish.

I second the vinyl option.