Filling gaps in and around switches

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have had three isolation switches fitted with approx 2-3cm gap between. The gaps are open between them and i can see some of the wires.
These gaps are deep into the wall, and i have no idea how to fill them.

Bear with me, i have no technical knowledge at all and a very simple answer would be appreciated.

I am supposing i remove the plates, which would show a row of three metal boxes into which the wires are fed. Am i then free to infill all spaces around the boxes? What should i use for this, anything specific?

Some plaster fell from the wall around the fitting of these which my kitchen fitter plastered around, but he didn't bother to go further. He did feel a shock wet plastering around them so i want to be careful to get it right!

This is probably such a simple operation, so apologies in advance.

Sponsored Links
Photos would be useful, but basically....

Isolate all the power in the area. Mix a small amount of plaster and fill in all of the gaps level with the rest of the plaster. Allow to dry out and clear any plaster splashes on the wires/ rear of switches, then refit.

Some ready mixed filler in tube might do it, squirt it into the gaps and smooth off with a trowel or pallet knife

Sponsored Links
Tell whoever fitted the switches to come back and finish the job.

Hold on, hold on... is it the switch fitter's place to fill chases?

Personally I don't fit accessories until SOMEONE has filled around the boxes (occasionally this may be me).

I prefer to second fix a job once someone has done all the plastering/tiling - but no doubt there's some money grabbers who like to attempt to do the lot in one day.

Hold on, hold on... is it the switch fitter's place to fill chases?
I suppose it depends on what was agreed beforehand.

Personally I don't fit accessories until SOMEONE has filled around the boxes (occasionally this may be me).
There you go.