Filling Loop Problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, complete DIY novice here,

Had a new fan installed in my boiler - during the time the engineer explained that we needed a new pressure gauge as the old one had a leak - he told me how to fit it: Let some water out of the system, install the new one and top up through the filling loop.

All fine with installing the new gauge but noticed that with the new gauge, the pressure was reading as higher than before - wondered if it wasn't properly calibrated?

Anyway, a couple of radiators on our system are now not getting hot - I assume I need to fill up to increase the pressure - I hadn't done this because of the new higher reading.

When I look at the filling loop it looks different from all the others I've seen online - the right hand screw (flat head surrounded by a 'lip' - turns 90 degrees in order to align with the pipe - attached)- but the one on the left - flat head screw protruding from the valve, squirts excessively when I open it (attached photo but rotated!). I can't hear any water actually running through the loop.

Any ideas gratefully received.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
The one on the left is a check valve and shouldn't be loosened, the one on the right is the ball valve that will be opened to let water into the CH circuit. As you've let water out the system to be able to replace the gauge, you'll have lost water in the radiators no doubt and they will need to be bled. Check the plumbing wiki on this site that will explain how this is done

The one on the left is a check valve and shouldn't be loosened, the one on the right is the ball valve that will be opened to let water into the CH circuit. As you've let water out the system to be able to replace the gauge, you'll have lost water in the radiators no doubt and they will need to be bled. Check the plumbing wiki on this site that will explain how this is done