fitting a new toilet, cast iron soil

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks
I'm hoping to fit a new toilet into a cupboard downstairs in my house, almost directly below my existing bathroom. I've spoken with my local council and have confirmation I don't need a building warrant or planning permission (I'm in Scotland) so I have started trying to workk out if it's something I can do myself or if I need to get a professional in.

I've done a little plumbing before, but I've never tried to fit a brand new toilet before, nor connect anything directly to cast iron soil pipe.

In the photo, immediately behind the right wall, under the electricity meter etc is where I'd like to fit the new toilet, but I'm not sure how I can attach a soil pipe to the existing stack, or how I can route it without obscuring the gas meter etc. Am I realistically lookign at spending a fortune to get the gas meter moved (again, as I've previously paid 1900 quid to have it moved due to vandalism when it was outside)

Attachments

• IMG_20170626_142219.jpg
    IMG_20170626_142219.jpg
    104.8 KB · Views: 237
Sponsored Links
you are going to have one helluva job trying to connect 4 inch waste pipe into that section of cast iron ,if that is what you are intending to do.

you are going to have one helluva job trying to connect 4 inch waste pipe into that section of cast iron ,if that is what you are intending to do.
Do you have a suggestion of a better way to do it?

Should I replace the cast iron entirely, or at least the section that's visible - directly above is the bathroom, which is getting replaced later in the year, so the upper section could get replaced then?