Fitting curtain rail - lintel problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Reposting this in the Building forum to get some more feedback...

Just wondering if anyone had any advice before I embark on this. After attempting to drill holes for a new curtain rail and discovering a steel (I think) lintel, I've decided the easiest solution is to nail a 1 inch thick wooden batten with masonry nails into the wall and screw a simple curtain rail to that.

However a reply in the decorating forum said this won't work and I should really try and drill through the lintel.

Let's say I somehow manage to drill through, is it then just a simple case of using rawlplug in the resulting hole? I really want the least hassle way of doing this.

Any tips on how to go about this and common pitfalls would be appreciated (I'm a total newbie at this)

Cheers!

Sponsored Links
Change your drill bit for one suitable to drill steel. Drill the hole & use METAL self tapping screws or you could drill & tapp it, neater than a batten

This is probaly a silly question but I would use a self tapping screw without a wall plug, right? So the self tapping screw would go through the curtain bracket, through the half inch or so or plaster/masonry, and then into the lintel? Will this provide sufficient support?

to drill through the lintel (although Ive never done it myself :D )

you would obviously need to change drill bits from your initial masonary bit to one best suited for drilling steel.

when drilling the Lintel turn down the speed on your drill , otherwise you will just blunt it very quickly :confused:

Your idea about the baton was a good one i thought as long as you miss the lintel with the nails !the lintel by the way should only be about 6" either side of your window.

Lintels are only covered by plaster so i wouldnt go using smaller nails as it wont be able to support much weight . no good if your hanging bloody great big curtains :D

Sponsored Links
Londoner said: