FITTING NEW WORK TOPS NEED ADVICE ABOUT ....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i am new here and have searched the forum but still could do with some advice....

I live in a ground floor flat ,i want to change my work tops in the kitchen and then refit the kitchen sink back as the sink is fine...

I have a boiler in the kitchen inside an airing cupboard which has a red gate valve (i think thats what it's called lol) just below the boiler ....Also i have noticed under neath the sink there is what looks like 2 service valves one for the hot water and 1 for the cold water...

Can i just turn these 2 valves off to shut the the water off so i can undo the sink, or do i need to turn off the gate valve as well ...do i need to drain anything off ...you see once i get the sink out and fit the work tops the original sink will be going back in..Any advice would really be appreciated as i am a novice at this but want to have ago at doing it myself...I know i am competent enough to do it with the right guidance ..Thanks for your time (if anyone reply's to me ). :LOL:

P.s Forgot to say the service valves are the screw type..

Sponsored Links
Sounds like you have 2 service valves - one for hot water to hot tap and one for cold water to cold tap. So switch these off and you are okay. Easy way to test is to switch the service valves off and then check if the two taps stop running. If they do then you have your answer - the service valves are switching off the water to the taps.

I would make sure I know where to switch off the mains water (stop cock) coming into the house as it is possible, when disconnecting pipework from the downstream side of the valves to disturb the valves so they start to drip. If you really want to be 100% sure then switch off the incoming mains, switch off your boiler and run the two taps until they stop running water - then you know you can work in a relaxed manner :)