Fixing open stair tread(s) (moved from Projects)

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,
Sorry, I am a newbie here. I saw that this forum has specific stairs forum.
I need advice from experts here, I have open stairs (treads only, no risers) in my condo. The stairs are pretty old and badly needed some fixings (as I heard occasional creaking noises when I step on some of them).
One of the stringers is touching the wall so I have no access to the side touching the wall. Now, some of the treads are gaping from the stringers (as you can see from picture attached), and one of the tread actually caved in because the 2 nails which was holding the treads snapped. Currently I just add aluminum brackets to support the treads from underneath but I want more permanent and safer solution.

My questions are:
1. Should I remove the tread which caved in and replace it with new tread which is wider? FYI, the width of the space in between the stringers are 35.5" and there are 0.75" cut-out on each stringers to fit a 1.5" x 11.5" treads.
If yes, what size of treads should I pick? 37" width (because 35.5" + (2x0.75)) or standard 36" width. If 36" wide, is it safe because there will be gaps too? How can I make sure it's safe?

Also, any recommendation of the type of wood for this application? I am leaning toward red oak because I heard it is the cheapest hardwood for this application but they are hard to find at that thickness (2" x 12") and pretty pricey. Do you have recommendation on a good place to get them? I am on a budget so cost is important.
If not, how do I fix the treads, can I add wood to it, just insert to the gap and glue them? How do I safely mount to the stringer which is touching the wall, since the broken nail was on that side?

2. How do I fix the existing gaps of the other treads which had not caved in? How do I reinforce it?
Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Attachments

• stair-circled.jpg
    stair-circled.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 132
Sponsored Links