foam sprayed under tiles now causing a headache

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,
My son moved house last year and his new place has foam sprayed on the underside of the roof tiles.I have read other posts and realise its crap.
He noticed staining on the ceilings so went in the loft to find water marks all over the place. he has contacted several roofers and they all run a mile when he tells them about the foam.I think its the wrong time of year to be doing a re roof that could turn into a saga So I was wondering does any roofer know of anything temporary that could be applied over the roof tiles as temporary solution until spring time. when hopefully a re roof could be done with less hassle. I am a plumber and have cat ladders so if any one has any suggestions of a miracle treatment I could try out to help I would be very grateful

Sponsored Links
st09040i.jpg

For water ingress there must be a failure of the covering, ie. Lead/Broken tile(s).
I would get up there, find the point of ingress and coat the offending lead/tile(s) with a paint on fibre sealant.

If the stains are all over the ceiling, could it be condensation falling, rather than actual rain penetration?
Agree best to get it done asap in spring.

Sponsored Links
+1 for a condensation issue......this spray foam is the devils own invention.
I'd consider a dehumidifier up there temporarily.
John :)

Thanks for replies
I have been on the roof in the summer scraping moss from the tiles. It is an up and over roof with no broken tiles. My theory was the moss was preventing the water running down the joints and finding it's way back in
It only appears to happen in very heavy rain. So don't think it's condensation. I do hope it's not caused the timbers to rot.

If there is a leak in the roof, then the water marks would really be concentrated in one place......if there are drops everywhere it still sounds like condensation to me.