French doors in existing window void...advise?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone.
Newbie here. Zoe.

My house is in Leeds, and have found myself in a position where i am now making plans.

I had a quote to knock out the existing window and put in a new french door and it comes in over £2k. Considering i can get the door for less than £500, Im considering doing this myself with the help of some strong people.

Has anyone done this themselves, any hints or tips?

Sponsored Links
I did this a couple of months ago.

Is your external wall brick or rendered block?

One tip- start as early in the day as possible, and check the door isn't broken before you knock the hole out, else it can get a bit draughty waiting for the replacement to turn up!

would you feel confident propping a wider opening, and lifting lintels up and into position?
there are a number of variables to consider.
why not read up on the search button and the Related Threads below.

What’s your current building skill level, as there are several required here (brickwork, structural alterations, plastering, window fitting)? And are you looking at making the opening wider, or keeping the existing width? Considerably smaller job if the latter

Sponsored Links
Has anyone done this themselves, any hints or tips?

Same width as window and cut down below, or widen opening with new lintel.

Big difference.

If you diy, I dont recommend if you widen opening.

You might be best to post an external pic -your window may have no lintel above it.

Solid wall or cavity?

Radiator or electrics inside?

Working out height of doors isnt easy on a cut below job......

Run a disk saw down the outside.
Cut the inside with a hand saw if soft blocks, bolster chisel if anything else.

Push the panels out, they will topple.

Vertical DPC up the cavity (if a cavity wall) and a bit of insulation in it before gobbling it up with mortar.

Fit DPC on the bottom, fit frame and make good etc.

Make good threshold.