1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fuse in wall socket for cooker, do I need to turn off power?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by mogmad, 12 Nov 2009.

  1. mogmad

    mogmad

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just moved house.
    The cooker here seems to have fused ?
    As both the gas hobs' ignitor and the electric oven have stopped working.
    There is a wall socket in the kitchen wall nearby that says fuse on it.
    Do I have to turn off the mains switch at the fuse box under the stairs before
    unscrewing the little door on the front of the socket plate ?
    And what sort of fuse lies within it to change ?
    Thanks !
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,882
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, just switch off before removing fuse.

    Probably a BS1362. What size? Dunno.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you know that the FCU hasn't been wired wrongly, with the fuse on the supply side, and therefore always with a live terminal?

    I'd turn off the circuit, just to be sure, until I knew.
     
  5. Chri5

    Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,289
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd be a bit concerned about a f/spur running an electric oven !

    Single oven seem to run in the range 2800w- 3800w. Anything over 3000w shouldn't be on a 13a fuse via a fused spur.
     
  6. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I always isolate circuit, if I was not certain it is dead.
    But could well be the breaker or fuse back at the box has gone,
    if the appliance is not protected by the FCU or it could be a loose termination/cable.
     
  7. CortinaV8

    CortinaV8

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree with ban-all-sheds on the wiring of it.

    I recently disconnected an electic oven at my parents while they were tiling behind it, the guy who installed it for them had wired both cables into the supply terminals on the cooker switch, rendering it useless.
     
  8. mfarrow

    mfarrow

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,126
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should think the FCU is for the ignitor, and that both oven and ignitor are fused back at the board together.

    There should be a point of isolation next to the cooker, but this may have been omitted, or be hiding somewhere (like at the back of a cupboard!).
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page