1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fused Spur from non fused spur

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by tommy8884, 19 Jun 2021.

  1. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello. So I know you can add a single unfused spur from a socket (ring main) which is what I already have in place. I would like to know, can I add a fused spur from the existing un fused spur?

    I am looking to run a SWA cable to a socket outside with an external 13a fcu. Does this fit the rule "you can add as many spurs as you like after an fcu", or does the first one need to be after the fcu as well?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,784
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first existing socket would have to be after the 13a fcu as well as the new socket.

    So spur cable_13a fcu_socket_new socket.

    Or, 13a fcu wired directly to ring_socket_new socket.
     
  4. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you. Will do that
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,632
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you've been told, the first socket, as well as others, has to be after the FCU.

    However, I wonder how you plan to connect the SWA to the FCU (or to the first socket after the FCU)?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello. I will move the FCU to before the first spur.

    My plan was then to add an external FCU from the socket (not from the first FCU). Seems overkill to have a second external FCU, however I need an external junction box anyway, and I want the ability to isolate the SWA cable just in case the garden floods (it has but only once in 50 years)

    Set up will be Ring main > FCU > Spur socket (inside) > external FCU (wall mounted, rear entry from inside) > SWA 2.5mm (25m) > external socket

    I could also come off the back of the FCU not the socket inside if that's better. I don't think there is a problem either way?

    As a side note, the purpose is we have a small brook at the bottom of the garden 25 meters from the house. I have installed a pump to irrigate the garden, so no major power draw.
     
  7. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,193
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I knew of someone who did that and got into problems with the water authorities. Apparently extracting water from rivers etc is not allowed. If ever did it there would be no river left.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have checked that out. It's on my property so I can extract up to 20,000l per day legally
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,632
    Thanks Received:
    3,189
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As tommy has indicated, it's not so much a question of 'not allowed' but, rather, of being limited and regulated/controlled.

    A friend of mine has his own well as his sole water supply. However, he has to pay the local water authority for the 'water supply' in the same way as if they were supplying it, apparently on the basis that they 'owned' all underground water and that in rivers etc.
     
  11. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed. From .gov

    If you want to remove or abstract water from a surface source (such as river,
    stream or canal) or from an underground source and take more than
    20 cubic metres (approximately 4,400 gallons) a day, you will almost
    certainly need an abstraction licence. The following information gives a brief
    outline of why abstraction licences are necessary, and how you can apply for
    one. If you are proposing to abstract water, please contact us as early as
    possible so that we can discuss the details with you. Contact details can be
    found on the reverse of this leaflet.
     
  12. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,591
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What about if you are taking less than 20 cubic meters a day though? I'd think it would be a very big garden to use that much water.
     
  13. tommy8884

    tommy8884

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly that was the point. I am perfectly allowed to do what i stated and irrigate my garden with a pump from the stream.

    The pump i have has max 3000l per hour, thats with 3 sprinklers connected to get full flow. So thats running them 6.6 hours per day to consume 20,000l.

    I run one sprinkler, for a couple of hour per week. So well within the allowable without a licence. Its a garden not a farm, the water is going back into the water table so not harming the environment, and was destined for the sea not a reservoir. In fact I'm doing the environment a favour by not using drinking water that takes cO2 to produce, to water my garden.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page