Fused spur-lighting Question

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by rotadays, 11 Nov 2021.

  1. rotadays

    rotadays

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello good people,
    I want to install an under stairs light. Can I use power from an existing 3 amp fused spur (which provides power to our alarm system)
    It would just be a single gang light switch and ceiling rose.
    Thankyou.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,790
    Thanks Received:
    4,252
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes.


    If you took the new cable from the supply side of the alarm (Switched) Fused Connection Unit to either -

    just a normal switch if a fuse is not necessary, or

    another SFCU if a fuse is necessary.


    That way they could be independently operated.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The supply side of the alarm FCU could well be direct from a 32a ring circuit. In fact most likely as an alarm FCU would not be required on a lighting circuit. So don’t use it.

    So take your supply for the under stairs light from one of your lighting circuits. If your CU is also under the stairs take it from the upstairs lighting circuit so if the downstairs were to ever trip you still have light under the stairs. If the upstairs trips hopefully there will be enough light from downstairs to see.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,790
    Thanks Received:
    4,252
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Winston: You do have some strange beliefs.

    Rotadays: What I said is perfectly acceptable.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. rotadays

    rotadays

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info,
    All done and dusted and we have light under the stairs. Easy job and the Wifes happy.
     
  7. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is NOT perfectly acceptable to have a switch and ceiling rose straight off a 32 amp circuit.
     
  8. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,052
    Thanks Received:
    4,355
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Yes.

    Ignore Winston.
     
  9. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NEVER EVER TELL PEOPLE TO IGNORE OTHERS.

    EFL suggested taking the feed from the input side of the fused spur straight to a switch and ceiling rose. He is dangerous and wrong as it is most likely the input side of the FCU is straight on a 32 amp ring.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,052
    Thanks Received:
    4,355
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Ignore Winston, just like he ignored EFLI saying
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NEVER EVER TELL PEOPLE TO IGNORE OTHERS.

    EFLs advice to connect a switch and ceiling rose to a possible 32 amp supply was dangerous.
     
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,052
    Thanks Received:
    4,355
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    through a SFCU was perfectly correct.

    Consider yourself ignored.
     
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is what he said:

    "If you took the new cable from the supply side of the alarm (Switched) Fused Connection Unit to either -

    just a normal switch if a fuse is not necessary, or

    another SFCU if a fuse is necessary."

    No explanation of when a FCU was necessary. Very dangerous advice.
     
  15. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,632
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Winston is a pain, but I have to agree with him here.

    You said "just a normal switch if a fuse is not necessary, or another SFCU if a fuse is necessary." but gave no advice on how to determine if a fuse was necessary. It is not reasonable to assume that someone who is at a skill level where they have to ask questions like the one in the original post can determine by themselves if a fuse is necessary.
     
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou plugwash, but the first 4 words are unnecessary and incorrect as you go to explain that I was correct.
     
    Last edited: 12 Nov 2021
  17. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,128
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EFLI was correct - but I thought his message a bit hard for a DIYer to follow, took me a couple of attempts to read and understand it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page