Fused switch connector install help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to install a fused switch connector to my wall socket for outside light. Running from power from house to connector, switch on or off to turn outside light on.
connected it as i think it should be done (see diagram) but it simply isnt working, ive changed bulb in light, fuse and switched all in/out wires around, still nothing, but the socket still works fine. Any ideas?

diagram is under my album thing on here, sorry im a noob lol[/img]

Sponsored Links
Trying to install a fused switch connector to my wall socket for outside light.
What did you do about Building Regulations approval?

(see diagram)
Can't.

but it simply isnt working, ive changed bulb in light, fuse and switched all in/out wires around, still nothing, but the socket still works fine.
Have you confirmed that you've got continuity with the cable?

Any ideas?
[/img]
ItsAnybodysGuess.jpg

View media item 47062
Looking at your diagram it should work.
Have you tested for continuity and polarity?
Have you also checked the cables are correctly terminated and tight with good contact to bare conductors within terminals.
Does the light have PIR setting dusk till dawn, does the switch need a double(repeated) switch on to stay live?

Sponsored Links
What did you do about Building Regulations approval?
http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/uploads/br/BR_PDF_ADP_2006.pdf

General guidance h + i on page 9 state that this work is non notifiable so why would the op have to have building regs approval?
It will depend where the feed was taken from, if a kitchen socket maybe and the location of the S/FCU :idea:
But if the light is fixed to the house and no outside connection such as junction boxes, ie the cable is connected within the fitting enclosure with no external joints. Would not require notification. Providing the internal connection are not made within the location deemed notifiable!