Galaxy Dimension zones High Resistante

Sor

Joined
15 Dec 2017
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Country
Portugal
Hi guys.

I've been having some faults with a Galaxy Dimension panel (installed March 2018):


- Fault in DualTech detector (onboard RIO 01 zone nr. 1011), on march 2020.
Option 21 showed last 13 days high resistances below 1200 Ohm, but high resistance on the day of the alarm (1296 Ohm). No problems before or since then.

- Alarm with smoke detector (offboard RIO 02 zone nr. 2021) on January 2021, no apparent reason.
Option 21 on the day of the alarm showed last 13 days with resistances OK (989-1036 Ohm), but high resistance on the day of the alarm (994-1296 Ohm). No problems before or since then.

- Aux Tamper Fault, only once, on February 2021, never before and never after. I did nothing to resolve it, it simply never happened again.



Option 21 for last 14 days shows that 8 zones (smoke and DT detectors, these DT are from different brands) register occasional high resistances, almost 1300 Ohm, but normally are OK.

Since these are both onboard zones and offboard (RIO 2 and RIO 3) zones, different detectors, I think it is likely the problem comes from the panel reading the resistances.


Can anyone advise me how to troubleshoot this?
Is it normal to have a high resistance only occasionally?


Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Jan 2014
Messages
907
Reaction score
143
Location
Fife
Country
United Kingdom
Since you're seeing issues with off-board devices, I would check that the power rails are okay and perhaps suspect the wiring - long CCA runs ?

Is the battery okay, or is it loading the panel down ? Check in diagnostics 61.1 for power (press the hash key to step through the power diags).

There was a firmware update to only log marginal high res to engineering logs, but the resistances are probably on the high side, so the panel is doing its job. I would update to 7.04 anyway.
 

Sor

Joined
15 Dec 2017
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Country
Portugal
Thank you GalaxyGuy.

I have finally looked everything you said. But I have issues with on-board devices as well, as I wrote on my previous post: zone 1011 and Aux Tamper fault.

Power rails seem to be Ok, screws all tight.
I do not use CCA cables, only copper.
Distances to devices are not that long. Maximum around 30m, most no more than 15m, some only around 5m.

RIO 3 and Aux Tamper loop are the same that I had with the old Galaxy 16+ that this Galaxy Dimension replaced. They worked just fine for 20 years without a single fault or false alarm. The difference is RIO 3 has now an external PSU.
Only RIO 2 is new.

Both RIO 2 and 3 are only 3m apart from the main panel. They have an Elmdene power suplly. Therefore, I cannot test them with option 61.

RESULTS of Option 61 Diagnostics:

3. RIO Comms
Modu 100: 13,78V
Modu 101: 13,78V
Modu 202: 100% 13,88V
Modu 203: 100% 13,80V

4. PSU Comms
Results are OK, including the battery, but as I mentioned, that is only for on-board battery.


How can the update of FW help with these issues?
I am reluctant on having the cost of updating if the problem is with the main panel; in the end I might have to replace it anyway, even after an update, right?
 
Joined
7 Jan 2014
Messages
907
Reaction score
143
Location
Fife
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry, yes I should have re-read.

When you display->zones and press the hash key for zone 1011 what resistance is it showing normally ? If you replace the wiring at that zone with a 1k resistor, does it then read 1k?

If you can start to diagnose each issue, it may give a better clue as to it being a panel or sensor/wiring issue.
 

Sor

Joined
15 Dec 2017
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Country
Portugal
Whenever I check the problematic zones resistances they seem to be Ok, around 1000 Ohm.
But if I check the min and max resistances for the past 14 days, sometimes I find one day with a max very close to 1300 Ohm. Min are always Ok.

So I can replace the zone wiring with a 1K resistor and check every 2 weeks for some time. If the problem persists, then I have a panel issue, right?
 
Joined
7 Jan 2014
Messages
907
Reaction score
143
Location
Fife
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, if you have a spare zone, then move the detector to it and place a resistor in 1011. An installer would normally just replace the panel PCB to start eliminating components of the system, but if you don't have a spare board, then you'll need to test the zones.
 
Sponsored Links
Top