1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Galaxy Flex 100+ Fault code on panel (+BATT FLT RIO100)

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Peterjames040668, 17 Jun 2021.

  1. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning / afternoon, to all,
    Please, just checking if there is anything more than just a Batt change before I get to the job.
    I have been told that the key pad back light pulsates every 10 to 20 sec, dose not disappear, and has a 1 fault code up +BATT FLT RIO100.

    The system is a New Flex 100 + was installed, and working fine, by me a week ago, but had original batt from pervious alarm system, for 7years, which i am getting a replacement in, to swap out.

    They say that the system will not let them arm now, i.e. enter code press A.
    and just shows the fault above, dose this sound like a straight 12V 7amp batt swap out or anything more to check when there?
    checked code Fault, on manual the nearest code to the above is this code, just says, BATT.FLT+ Battery fault MOD 13.ELEC ST 302

    So I am assuming it is just a swap of the 12v 7amp batt?

    Thanks in advance.
    Kind Regards
    Peter James
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,649
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    New control panel ……new battery every time …it’s false economy not to …
     
  4. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, understand,
    did ask for all to be delivered, but unfortunately everything except the batt was delivered, so got on with it till new batt arrives:(
     
  5. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The battery is load tested by the panel periodically in the background. You can run the test by entering diag menu 61, then select power, then press the hash key repeatedly until the display shows 'ent to test'. Hit 'ent' and the battery test will run.
     
  6. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for that one Galaxy Guy,
    Sorry for late reply,
    that's great, I will try that out when on site,
    will let you know how it went.
    thanks'
    Should be today, will see.
     
  7. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    good evening Galaxy Guy,
    just back from site, did tests on Flex 100 + and on the key pad all seemed ok? see attached, New Batt on the way, so just tested with the 5 year old batt in, Key pad still dimming every 10 sec, and there seems to be a draw, when this happens, as the Volts drop for a second, taken all devices of the PCB, just the key pad on, still happens, & still shows (+BATT FLT RIO100) I did a Internal Resistance Test on both Batt full charged, the old one is 422 m OHM's the new one 123 m OHM's So a big difference there, so I'm hoping just the batt? Did want to down upload a video clip of the quick voltage loss, but cannot seem to upload a video file. But i am not 100% convinced yet that it is just the batt, but hopping it is !? any thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Sponsored Links
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,649
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So have you fitted a new battery ? As your post does not make sense …..!
     
  10. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure I follow what you are doing above. Testing resistance of a battery ??? You can load test a battery, but since it is a voltage source, you cannot measure a resistance with a DVM. You also didn't perform the battery load test in the PSU comms menu. The factory test only checks RAM and the RIO voltages aren't relevant, as they're being powered by the PSU.

    If you are concerned that the backlight goes dim every few seconds - that's normal when there is no battery, as the panel keeps trying to run the load test to see if the battery is present. A dead battery can cause this - or no battery fitted/connected.
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2021
  11. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good evening Galaxy Guy, was testing for the internal resistance of the batt, IE load test with a power resistor & ohms law to determine if the batt was posable on it way out, so knew it may be a posable contributor to the Fault that comes up on the panel (+BATT FLT RIO100) as when i checked Volts, of load , all seem fine with the batt, but was looking for evidence that the batt was the main source of the problem IE the fault message on the key pad ( +BATT FLT RIO100 )
    But you have put my mind at ease by letting me know that a dead batt can cause the dimming of the back light, on the Key pad,
    I did try what you said, but did not see any power option in menu 61? on the Galaxy Flex 100 + ? so when i got to Diagnostics in Menu 61, followed the sub menu and only saw everything it had in the manual,..... tried # when i got to 61, but had no affect? have i missed something? when i did this maybe? which is why i thought it might be everything in61 Diagnostics, which had batt size, volts, ECT... sorry if i got it wrong? maybe missed something?
     
  12. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, as long as the battery holds its voltage under a max load, then it's ok. The power supply test is under menu 61, then select sub menu for PSU diagnostics. At that point, you then press the hash key to reach the battery test. Hopefully the bad battery hasn't damaged the board.
     
  13. Peterjames040668

    Peterjames040668

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Galaxy Guy, for that,
    Sorry for late reply to all,
    Took PCB out checked it out, New batt is not running PCB and Key Pad when mains is down, so maybe damage already on PCB,
    So sent back and new one came in the other day, tested the PCB, and it works, New Batt, powers PCB & Key Pad OK, so all good, I'm not sure if it was the PCB that failed, or it maybe was the bad batt? or maybe the really old Sounder over 10 years odd, and internal sounder, ? but going to change those too, so everything is as new, except the PIR's are still the same, just rewired the new Resistors in for the Flex 100 + .So hopefully all ok when it all go's back together next week, will double check again the existing wiring. And will check out that 61 sub menu PSU Diagnostics for ref. thanks, will let you know how it go's.
     
Loading...

Share This Page